• For inquiries, please call: 571-502-0061

The Stages of HIV

The Stages of HIV

Fever, chills, and mouth ulcers are some of the symptoms people with HIV feel. These transform into various degrees of severity. According to the CDC, there are three stages of HIV.

  • Acute HIV Infection
    This is the earliest stage of HIV infection. As the body’s natural reaction to the infection, people may have flu-like symptoms. Even if not everyone experiences symptoms, a large amount of HIV present in the blood is contagious. Several providers and non-profit organizations can educate you about the infection if you are in this stage. They can also help you manage it, so better look for one in your area.
  • Chronic HIV Infection
    Here, people with the infection may not feel HIV-related symptoms. But, they can still transmit HIV as it is still active. It lasts for ten years or more, while others progress faster. If you have discovered the infection only in this stage, never hesitate to reach out to HIV communities. They can support you.
  • Acquired Immunodeficiency Syndrome (AIDS)
    When people reach this stage, their immune system is badly damaged. Several infections and illnesses come out, which lessens the years of the infected. Everyone hopes that nobody reaches this severity.

Whatever stage you are in, the Progressive Alliance For The Targeted Health (PATH) is ready to embrace you. Whether it’s health education, behavioral intervention, spiritual services, or other services you need, we can provide them to you. We offer a community outreach program in the Washington Metropolitan area to access communities so you can live a better and healthier life. Reach out now.

This entry was posted in HIV Stages and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.